Dead Man’s Cove

By Lauren St John (Orion)

Dead Man’s Cove is the first of an exciting detective series about Laura Marlin, an 11 year old orphan.  All her life, Laura has lived in a Children Home and she has always dreamed of finding a home of her own. When an uncle is discovered who is willing to take her in, Laura is thrilled.  Especially since he lives in a little seaside village in Cornwall.  Laura longs for a life of excitement, just like the characters in her favourite detective novels and she’s thrilled when real life mysteries start to pile up.

Why does her uncle, Calvin Redfern, forbid her to go to Dead Man’s Cove? What’s the truth about Tariq, the silent Indian boy who lives with the Mukthar family at the grocery store? Who is J? Who has left the message in a bottle for Laura to discover? Mysteries abound and who better to solve them than Laura Marlin, ace detective, accompanied by her trusty companion, Skye, a three-legged husky?

A well-written, gripping and entertaining detective series in the spirit of Enid Blytons’ Famous Five and Secret Seven. Laura is a strong female hero with intelligence and values as well as a few flaws – making her real and accessible. Dead Man’s Cove won the 2011 Blue Peter Book of the Year Award, and St John is author of many other much loved stories including the One Dollar Horse trilogy and the White Giraffe series. There are five books in the Laura Marin series.

51qxl9q0vil-_ac_ul320_sr208320_51ldgyesb7l-_sx321_bo1204203200_51g6ja65tll-_sx320_bo1204203200_  51vx-v2lxpl-_sx310_bo1204203200_  141550-ml-820556

Share this on


Get in touch

We’d love to hear from you!

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial