The Worst Witch Series


By Jill Murphy (Puffin)

The much-loved The Worst Witch series, about a boarding school for witches  and the adventures and mishaps of a clumsy young witch, Mildred Hubble, came long before Harry Potter.  Mildred is lovable but always in a muddle.  She spills potions, crashes on her broomstick and breaks the school rules quite without meaning to.  The head witches at Miss Cackle’s Academy for Witches despair and are always calling out: ‘Oh no…You’ve done it now Mildred!’

When Mildred ruins the school broomstick flying formation her whole grade is mad at her and she decides to run away.  Before she gets very far she overhears plans from a coven of wicked witches to turn the whole school into frogs.  Can Mildred save the day and the school? Big text and sweet illustrations make this the perfect chapter book for young readers.

There are six books in the series, all as charming as each other:  The Worst Witch Strikes Again, A Bad Spell for the Worst Witch, The Worst Witch all at Sea, The Worst Witch Saves the Day and The Worst Witch to the Rescue.Written in 1974, I remember loving the books and they were even made into a TV series. Although a little old fashioned at times – the books have lasted well and are a perfect stepping stone before reading Harry Potter and the like.


Share this on


Get in touch

We’d love to hear from you!

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial