Wolf Brother

By Michelle Paver (Orion Children’s Books)
Guest reviewed by Finn Straughan (9)
“The book I have just read is Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver. There are 6 books in the series. The story is about a wolf, a boy called Torak and a girl called Renn. It is very exciting and scary in some places and also makes you laugh. I couldn’t put it down it was so good and I can’t wait to start the next one. I rate it 5 out of 5.”
Parent’s note: 

Wolf Brother is the first book in the series Chronicles of Ancient Darkness by Michelle Paver. The story takes place 6000 years ago during the New Stone Age, and tells the tale of twelve-year-old Torak, a boy of the Wolf Clan. Torak’s father is killed by a demon-posessed bear and only Torak and his wolf-cub companion can defeat it.  Their journey together takes them through deep forests, across giant glaciers, and into dangers they never imagined.

This is a great series for kids who love adventure, animals, survival in the wild and fantasy. 
For more on Paver’s inspiration in writing this series and the incredible amount of research she does, check out her webpage. And look out for the audio books read by Sir Ian McKellen. There’s also a series of free podcasts of the first book here.
Exciting news: New books in the series are out! Skin Taker came out in 2020 and now Viper’s Daughter continues with Torak, Renn and Wolf forced to face the terrifying creatures and devastated lands in the Dark Time of midwinter. 
The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness 6 Book Collection - Young Adult - P — Books2Door
When a book is so good you can’t put it down…
Share this on


Get in touch

We’d love to hear from you!

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial